From the archives … La Paz

I visited La Paz, the capital of Bolivia, in April 2009. The highest altitude capital city in the world, it is an amazing place. Cities aren’t for everyone but I love them. The buzz, the people, the sights all make me want to snap away. I can’t precisely say what so captivated me about La Paz. Maybe the setting, the tempo of life there, the fact I found it so easy to converse in Bolivian Spanish, the warmth of the people, the mix of crazy travellers who came together in that place.

Visiting there for just under a week, I spent a lot of time just watching the world go by, acting as a flâneur. But this was something I noticed the locals did too. There was a different pace there than in most cities. It had its craziness but it felt like even the hustle and bustle was in slow motion, moving with a languid tempo.

It was the perfect place for shooting film, the slow deliberateness that favours great shots working well with the city itself. I did shoot digital as well, which you can see on my flickr stream. While the digital shots captured the bright abundant colours of this sunny city, the black & whites captured something of its soul, of its rhythm.

Enjoy the images and me know what your thoughts are on the differences between the colour and black & white, between the digital and film.

stroll

aqui

gathering

booth

che

135

angles

witch doctor

SA_08_BO_026

tienda 2

murilio

femminista

barbs

path

old town

flâneur

paparazzi

portrait painter

pots

market

back streets

wander

Leave a Reply

