Magic beach yoga shoot

Bird of Paradise 2

Recently my lovely yogi friend Mimi commissioned me to do a shoot for her on the beautiful beach where I live on Koh Phangan, Thailand. Mimi and I did a yoga teacher training course together and she found out about my love of film photography. I was excited that she specifically wanted her photos on film! Mimi was an enthusiastic, easygoing and patient model, who took it all in her stride when i asked her to pose kneeling on the sharp quartz rocks overlooking the bay. Personally I think the pain was worth it! Mimi hails from Iowa (probably the first person I have ever met from Iowa!) and teaches at Hothouse Yoga in Iowa City. Her background as a dancer (she also teaches dance) shines through in her elegant yoga asanas, for which the amazing view provides such a great backdrop. She can do a mean hula hoop as well! Thanks to the ever fun Lee for being roped in and assisting with the acro yoga pics! Here are a selection of the images I took that day, while many others can be seen on my Flickr album of the shoot. I was happy with about 95% of the images so it was really difficult to decide which to publish – I hope you enjoy them.

Standing Split (Urdhva Prasarita Eka Padasana) 2

Viparita Virabhadrasana (Reverse Warrior)

Low lunge

 

Natarajasana (Lord of the Dance Pose) 2

Reflecting on high

Namaste! Tadasana/Samasthiti with Anjali mudra

Urdhva Mukha Svanasana (Upward-facing dog)

Urdhva Hastasana (Upward salute)

Bird of Paradise 4

Ardha Matsyendrasana (Half Lord of the Fishes)Sand Scorpion

Lion's breath

Visvamitrasana

Visvamitrasana 2

Ardha Padmasana Vrksasana (What Mudra is that then Mimi?)

Balancing act

Thoughtful

Sideways

Grinners are winners

Reflecting on the horizon

Looking up

Hooping!

Hooping with grace

Dancer's elegance

6 thoughts on “Magic beach yoga shoot

    1. nicole says:

      Thanks so much! Both Mimi and the view are super inspiring. The rocks were a real challenge though … I will wager that your morning yoga mat is much comfier. The things a photographer will make a model do for a good shot 😉

  1. Vetti says:

    The inspiration really shines through…I’ve learned the hard way that stunning landscapes aren’t always the most comfortable places to do yoga 😉 Loving your work…

    1. nicole says:

      That is so great to hear you say. Thankyou! To be honest they turned out even better than I had hoped … no, cool looking rocks definitely aren’t all they are cracked up to be, nor is trying to do arm balances or acroyoga on uneven beaches and in water. But those two let me boss them around for art’s sake and were total troopers 🙂

Leave a Reply

