Adieu Haad Tien – Erin Bartolome

Four days before leaving the beautiful island of Koh Phangan I did one final yoga photoshoot. I randomly met up with Erin on one of the Koh Phangan facebook pages when she put the call out for a yoga photographer. For once my internet was working so I put my hand up.

This lovely, sweet lady is a talented yoga teacher who is living on Koh Phangan for a few months immersing herself in yoga and giving back through volunteering through projects such as Phangan Animal Care; Monte Vista Retreat, & helping clean up our beaches. In her other life she teaches on another magical island – Nantucket, off Cape Cod in Massachusetts, USA.

Erin came over to my side of the island, which is about 500m as the crow flies from where she is. But, due to the rather large mountain in the middle, it takes a good couple of hours by bike & boat to get from one side to the other! (Apart from the rutted 4WD track through the jungle, which I personally hate!). But she got to see and do yoga in what I personally think is some of the most spectacular scenery in the world! (Not that I’m biased of course).

It was a fun shoot and Erin was a trooper in the blazing sun and on the hot and hurty rocks. They look nice in the photos but yogis don’t really love kneeling on them! I love this location and you may be familiar with it from a previous shoot. I was really happy with the results and looking at them makes me reminisce about my second home on the Magic Beach.

Thanks for such an awesome experience Erin! You can see Erin’s yogic philosophy and enquire about her classes in Nantucket on her website.

Mandahasa B&W
IMG_4293

Baddha Konasana B&W (Bound Angle Pose)
IMG_4291

Virabhadrasana I (Warrior 1)

Urdhva Mukha Svanasana (Updog)

Urdvha Dhanurasana (Wheel Pose)

Eka Pada Urdvha Dhanurasana (One-legged Wheel Pose)

Anjaneyasana (Low Lunge) with Jnana Mudra

Malasana (Garland Pose) B&W

IMG_4438

Salamba Sirsasana (Supported Headstand) with variation B&W

IMG_4407
IMG_4399_b&w

Anjaneyasana (Low Lunge) with Jnana Mudra

IMG_4367_warm

Upasthiti

Utthita Hasta Padangustasana (Extended Hand to Big Toe Pose)

IMG_4362_b&w
Bind b&w

IMG_4327

Virabhadrasana 2 (Warrior 2) B&W
IMG_4325

IMG_4321
Virabhadrasana 2 (Warrior 2)

Padmasana (Lotus)

Leave a Reply

